Harlot Stories

harlot

As per this letter from the editor, I’m going to co-edit the fiction section at Harlot Media along with Michon Neal. The house brand slants toward kinky, queer, sexy and politically incisive. As far as genre goes, noir, mystery, contemporary fantasy, magic realism, and cyberpunk would all be welcome. It doesn’t have to be erotica or focused on romance or even centrally kinky, but it can be. Secondary-world fantasy will be a hard sell. (I personally don’t mind it, but it doesn’t quite go with the site’s general tone.) Steampunk – especially Victoriana – is also a hard sell.

Length: 1500-6000 words. Anything longer than 2000 words will be serialized. Pay is negotiable and starts at a token rate (sorry!), and scales with length.

How to pitch: @ me on twitter and make sure I can DM you, and we’ll take it from there. If you have a completed story, that’s what I will want to look at. If you only have a pitch, send me the pitch and direct me to a sample of your writing – your bibliography or whatever else is available. I do prefer a completed story submission because I don’t want to say yes to your pitch and make you write a new story only for me to reject it (I will reject a lot of things).

Generally, I have a preference for writers who are queer or of color or both. #ownvoices is great. This isn’t a romance publication so I don’t require a happily-ever-after/happy-for-now ending, but I am not interested in straight writers sending in queer tragedy. I like style and dislike the idea that ‘style’ and ‘plot’ are somehow separate.

Submissions should be in .RTF, .DOC, or .DOCX. PDFs are not acceptable and never will be. At the moment, I don’t have a deadline for closing to submissions because this is still very new, though I do have a particular amount of inventory in mind. We’ll see and I will update this post as things transpire.

